Saturday , 13 July 2024
Home More Otunba Isiaka Adeleke Memorial Football Championship: Ofatedo United Begin On Winning Note

Otunba Isiaka Adeleke Memorial Football Championship: Ofatedo United Begin On Winning Note

 Otunba Isiaka Adeleke Memorial Football Championship: Ofatedo United Begin On Winning Note

Ofatedo United made the ideal start to the Otunba Isiaka Adeleke Memorial Football Championship by seeing off Awo United in the opening game of the Football tournament hosted in honour of the late political icon and first civilian Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adeleke.

Jelili Muritala scored the only goal of the game after receiving a close pass from Asimiyu Ayomide in the 73rd minute of the pulsating encounter. 

The competition which is sponsored by Rep Bamidele Salam, the Federal House of Representatives Member representing the good people of Ede South/North/Egbedore and Ejigbo constituency, got off to a spectacular start with a welcome speech by the sponsor Hon. Bamidele Salam who described the late senator as someone who rendered selfless services to his people and never left them for once. 

“Today we celebrate a man who has a heart of gold and his dreams and aspiration of selfless service to humanity remains undying, but rather blossomed even after his death. 

In her opening remarks, the special guest of honour, Yeye Dupe Adeleke-Sanni thanked the sponsor of the tournament , Hon. Bamidele Salam for honouring her late brother and stated that each passing day keeps him evergreen in the minds of his teeming admirers across the world, as he did alot of philanthropic gestures while still alive.

Ofatedo United were the better side from the blast of the whistle, putting a number of efforts wide off goal and managed to get two shots on target before the interval. 

Just as Awo United were enjoying their best spell in the second half, Ofatedo United took the lead through Muritala. A neat one-two allowed Asimiyu Ayomide to break into the Awo United box before cutting inside his marker and putting Jelili Muritala in a good position to slot in.

The win puts Ofatedo United top of the Egbedore Centre, which includes Ido-Osun Warriors, Ultimate Warriors from Iragberi and Awo United F.C. 

Other centres are the Ede Centre which will play host to Fidelity Soccer Agency, Dynasty FC, Ede, Adiatu Adebayo FC, Akogun FC, Ede Eyiowuawi FC and GFCC Ede North FC. 

Ejigbo Centre includes, Ifesowapo FC, Ejigbo United, Tanjo Surprise FC and Temidire FC.

Ofatedo Starting XI: 

Adefioye Olaoba| Akintayo Matthew| Oladunjoye Ishola| Oparinde Kehinde|Adekeye Joshua| Sanusi Hammed| Jelili Muritala| Jerry Jerry| Gaffaru Onifade| Asimiyu Ayomide| Adeshina Ademola

Awo United Starting XI:

Olawuyi Ayuba

|Babatunde Joseph| Oyekanmi Wasiu|Williams Tefa| Olarenwaju Victor| Vitalis Daniel| Adeshina Tosin| Adedokun Ademola| Ogbu Sunday| Vitalis Tunde| Moses Daniel

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Volleyball: National Division 2 League Kicks off today in Jalingo

All is set for the National Division 2 Volleyball League in Jalingo,...

Basketball Players Vow to Hit the Streets Against Sunday Dare

Some Basketball Players under the umbrella of Concerned Progressive Ballers CPB, have...


By Akin Bolarinwa Respected basketball youth camp exponent and former youth International,...

NFF: No ban on Moshood Abiola National Stadium; VAR not stolen

The Nigeria Football Federation has decried a stream of incorrect reports being...